Well, it is frustrating when one creates a training log to note each run, but fails to note the last 7 weeks of what transpired during each of those runs. Regardless, I have a pretty good idea. I am spending much of October following my recovery schedule. I have done few but not too many runs thus far. Some of my runs have been with a few of my star cross-country runners. My legs feel great. And, I am not letting my last race crush my confidence; if anything, I feel a sense of rejuvenation. I think that tends to be the case for most runners. We spend 90% or more of our time training, and less than 10% of it actually racing. I am okay with that. But, if I am going to give this much time and attention to training, I am going to make the most of it.

So, what sucks about my training? That is an easy question. I lack discipline. I fail to get key things done early enough thus I end up working late into the night. This means that my next run is done while I am sleep running. I have experienced this before — really. My diet has never been great. I am now convinced that I took up running so that I can eat and drink what I want. Oh, and so that I look good naked, too. The small stuff. Sure, I lift weights. But I do not lift weights in ways that I should. This is true of core work too. I am sure I will have more to say on this matter as I spend the next few weeks thinking about my next race.

