You know you are tapering when you start to notice small things — like a slight increase in weight; I know. I am paranoid. But I feel like I have put on 5 lbs already. And, my appetite has increased exponentially. I am being cautious, though. I was reading this:

Trap: Craving Carbs

Symptoms: The urge to stuff yourself with high-carbohydrate foods to ensure a vast supply of energy for the marathon.

Cause: “During those last three weeks, marathoners tend to think only carbs, carbs, carbs,” says Vince Rucci, head of the Vertical Runner Marathon Training Group in Hudson, Ohio. But shoveling down the carbs, particularly at the expense of other important nutrients like protein, will make you feel bloated and will accelerate–and inflate–the normal water-weight gain associated with a taper

Solution: During your taper, slightly modify the carbohydrate-based diet you’ve maintained throughout your marathon training. “Simply emphasize the carbs already in your diet,” says Nancy Clark, R.D., a sports nutritionist in Boston. “For example, instead of having chicken with rice, have rice with chicken.” Clark recommends taking in 55 to 65 percent of your calories from carbohydrates, 10 to 15 percent from protein, and 20 to 30 percent from fat. Ensure the proteins are low in fat, such as chicken, fish, lean meats, beans, and legumes.

Total Miles: 0

