I had pretty good intentions of getting in 10 mile run Saturday, but found it highly difficult after a day of yard work. By time I was done cleaning up both the front and back yard, there was nothing left in me. I needed to get it done, though. Spring has arrived here in Houston. This means I will really have to be organized in getting my runs and workouts in. There are things that I need to get done around the house, as well as the rise in temperature issue. For those of you who do not live in highly humid regions, it can be a challenge here. Case in point: In the summer, I keep two pair of running shoes at all time. It usually takes a pair of my shoes a good 12 – 18 hours to dry after a run. With spring here, I am hoping this will help my training. Running and training in heat is tough. But, knowing that I will most likely not race in it, adds both a mental and psychological dimension that is beneficial.

I did manage to get in a 22.68 mile run on Sunday; it was warm. The high was around 80, though very windy. My run was okay…but nothing great; I had hoped to feel much stronger in the latter stages. I ran the first 12 miles at a comfortable 7:43 per mile pace; I picked up the pace finishing the last 10 miles at 7:10 per mile pace.

Total Miles today: 22:68

Total Miles for Week Seven: 78.08

